Skip to main content

Coronavirus Updates

For any key worker whose child is not currently using our childcare facility,  and who subsequently becomes unable to provide childcare at home –  you must give the school 24 hours’ notice that you need to use this provision so that we can provide appropriate staffing. This means emailing office@newhorizonschildrensacademy.org.uk or calling 0333 602115 by 9am the day before.

For Monday provision, please ensure that you contact the school by 9am on the preceding Friday.  Students arriving without giving 24 hours’ notice may be turned away if we do not have adequate staffing.

 

Other letters about Coronavirus are below.

Letter to all parents – Years 7, 8, 9, 10 and 12 27.03.20

Letter to parents – Year 11 and 13 27.03.20

23.03.20 – Key Workers

School Closure Guidance

Key Workers

Update 19.03.20

We will of course keep all parents up to date with any further announcements. 

 

Admissions 2020/21

All admission acceptances and appeals forms should be emailed to admissions@holcombegrammar.org.uk. Please do not bring them in at the school. Ms Wood will be in touch soon to confirm receipt of documents. However, please email the Admissions email for any queries or concerns. We hope everyone is safe and well and we look forward to meeting you in September.

Events

Holcombe Grammar School offers a wide range of events from sporting to musical and even quiz nights. Any upcoming events will be listed on this page.

Dates for 2019 / 2020
September
Saturday 21st September Medway Testing Venue
October
Thursday 3rd October Year 7 Settling in Evening 4:30pm – 6:30pm
W/C 7th October and 14th October Year 11 Prelims
Saturday 12th October Open Morning 9am-1pm
Friday 18th October Staff Development Day
19th – 27th October Japan Trip
November
Monday 18th November Deadline for School Captains’ Team Applications; Year 13 Prelims all week
Thursday 21st November Year 11 Parent Consultation Evening 4:30-7:30pm
Tuesday 26th November Sixth Form Open Evening 6pm-9pm
December
Tuesday 10th December Christmas Carol Concert at St Stephen’s from 6pm-7pm
Thursday 12th December Year 13 Parent Consultation Evening 4:30pm – 6:30pm
Thursday 19th December School Closed in lieu of Open Morning
January
Monday 6th January Staff Development Day
W/C 6th January Year 12 Prelims
W/C 27th January and 3rd February Year 11 Prelims
February
W/C 3rd February Year 10 work experience week
Thursday 6th February Year 9 Parent Consultation Evening 4:30pm – 6:30pm
Friday 7th February Year 12 Apprenticeships Fair
Friday 7th February Year 7, 8 and 9 Disco 7pm-9:30pm
Friday 7th February Positively Mad Year 9
Monday 10th February Year 11 Art Prelim; Year 11 DT Drop Down Day; Year 11 History Revision Periods 1 and 2
Tuesday 12th February Selected Year 11 trip to Drill Hall University Library
Thursday 13th February Year 12 Parent Consultation Evening 4:30pm-6:30pm
Friday 14th February Selected Year 11 trip to Hysteria Escape Rooms
March
W/C Monday 2nd March Year 13 Prelims
Wednesday 18th March Geography Revision Booster Session selected Year 12 at Emmanuel Centre
Thursday 19th March Year 8 Parent Consultation and Options Evening
April
Thursday 23rd April Year 10 Parent Consultation Evening 4:30pm – 6:30pm
May
Friday 8th May Early May Bank Holiday (instead of Monday 4th)
June
W/C 15th June Year 10 Prelims
W/C 22nd June Year 12 Prelims
Thursday 25th June Year 7 Parent Consultation Evening 4:30pm – 6:30pm
Tuesday 30th June Year 12 Induction
 
July
Wednesday 1st July Year 12 Induction
Thursday 2nd July Year 6 Taster Day and Evening for Parents

Year 12 Work Experience Week

Tuesday 14th July Founders’ Day
Wednesday 15th July Sports Day
Friday 17th July End of Term